A.N Shamseer is the New Speaker of the Kerala Assembly

A.N Shamseer is the New Speaker of the Kerala Assembly

Shamseer has been representing thalassery since 2016. He is elected as the 24th speaker of the Kerala Legislative assembly. M.B Rajeesh resigned and replace him Shamseer elected as the new speaker of the assembly. The ruling communist party of India decide to make the latter a minister in the left government.

Today after the voting, Mr. Shamseer got 96 votes. Anwar Sadath, candidate for opposition party congress received 40 votes. The total votes are 140 in the assembly.

Deputy speaker Chittayam Gopakumar announced the winner’s name.

Congrats Speeches

Kerala chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan. And the leader of the opposition party made congratulatory speeches. Also, Indian union Muslim league leader P.K Kunhalikutty. And CPI leader E Chandrashekharan also made speeches.

“He entered politics through the student organization. The first union chairman of Kannur University. He was in the leadership of the SFI and the DYFI for a long period. Also has a master’s degree in anthropology and law. He has shown us that academics and politics can be pursued together,” Mr. Vijayan said.

CM also points out the 31 young members in the current assembly. That is from the age group of 27 and 48.

“This means that this Assembly is generally young. When a person from that age group becomes the Speaker. We expect that energy will reflect in all aspects of the House,” Mr. Vijayan added.

Congress leader Satheesan said. “The Speaker has a responsibility of upholding the legacy of the House. Which has a distinction of holding the most number of sessions in the country”. Also he congrats Mr. Shamseer.

Both the Chief Minister and the Leader of Opposition congratulated Mr. Rajesh on becoming a state minister.

Mr. Shamseer was elected as the state secretary of SFI in 2008. He was also the state president of the DYFI.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *